Warning: Illegal string offset 'allow_html' in [path]/geek/gars/mods/display/references.php on line 21
Drumming Shoes - Drummer Experiences
drums drum set drummer

Drums resource and community for the online drummer
  The time is now 07:27 AM GMT -4.  
Search Drum Set Connect:

Site Features
Drum Forum
Drum Lessons
Drum Reviews
Drum Kit Photos
Shop
Drum T-Shirts
Premium Membership
Get in Touch
Advertise
Link to us
Contact us
Sponsors
Find Drums

Links

Go Back   Drum Forum at Drum Set Connect > Drum Lessons > Drummer Experiences

Comment

Article Tools Display Modes
Drumming Shoes
Drumming Shoes
An analysis of different shoes for drumming
Published by full metal
06-16-2006
Post Drumming Shoes

I have been playing for 18 years now and the one thing I have found in all of those years is that foot wear is just as important as picking out the right pair of sticks. So I am going to go in depth into drumming foot wear and how it can affect your playing.

Over the years I think that I have played in just about anything you could ever sit down behind the kit and play in. These are some of the things that I found about all of them.

Cowboy boots
Yes, there are a lot of drummers out there that play in cowboy boots and I have tried it. What I found through playing in them is that if you are trying to play a bass rhythm that is even remotely complicated and fast, there is a good chace that you are not going to pull it off. Your typical cowboy boot has a slick bottom on it and your foot will tend to wander around the pedal. The cowboy boot also lacks in bendability.

Work boots
These are almost like the cowboy boots in the bendability aspect but they have a better grip on the pedals. It would be good to wear them to build up those muscles in the feet to increase speed but otherwise I could never find a practical application for them.

Skate shoes