Premium Membership
Get in Touch
Advertise
Link to us
Contact us
Sponsors
Find Drums

Links

Go Back   Drum Forum at Drum Set Connect > Drum Forums - All About Drums > Play the Drums - Drum Talk

Old 08-22-2005, 02:18 PM
Larry

How to become a drum teacher

Are there any drum teachers out there that can add to this discussion? I'm interested in giving drum lessons to make some extra income. I'm not a professional or anything but I would imagine that you need to be a solid player in order to get a teaching gig anywhere.

Here's the list I came up with for steps and qualifications to teaching drums professionally. Feel free to add to the list.

-know how to read music and drum notations. This is probaly the most important step to teach at a drum school.
-have played drums and percussion for at least 10 years. No one wants to hire a newbie.
-know all the different types of music and styles.
-can play all of the rudiments by heart
-be at an older age. Someone who is 40 probaly has the advantage over someone who is 20
-experience as a drummer. Theory is great but without experience it means nothing
-having good connections with other teachers or drum organizations certainly helps as well

Old Sponsors
Sponsored Links
Old 08-22-2005, 02:20 PM
escalade

you forgot the most important thing:

Gotta be a good communicator and teacher. The best drummer in the world with the worst communication skills would still be a crap drum teacher

Old 08-22-2005, 02:26 PM
laughz

also worth mentioning...

*gotta be able to relate to students of all ages, keep 'em motivated and stuff, know their goals and what they wanna get out of drums

*dont really agree with the gotta know all the styles part. If someone wants to learn jazz and you specialize in it but don't know the other styles too well, you could still do a good job

Old 08-24-2005, 09:41 PM
Level 13 - Thirteen Stroke Roll

full metal is on a distinguished road