Premium Membership
Get in Touch
Advertise
Link to us
Contact us
Sponsors
Find Drums

Links

Go Back   Drum Forum at Drum Set Connect > Drum Forums - All About Drums > Play the Drums - Drum Talk

Old 06-20-2006, 03:49 PM
Level 9 - Seven Stroke Roll

Davenhurst is on a distinguished road

Anyone else self-taught?

Just saw the thread about what you look for in a drum instructor and had a thought - I'd be interested to know what sort of education you've all had in terms of drumming, and what you feel its done for your playing alongside listening to drummers, watching drummers and just jamming....

I'll start off by saying that I've never had a lesson in my life, anyone else? I'd like to hear how other untutored drummers feel about their playing too.

Old Sponsors
Sponsored Links
Old 06-20-2006, 03:52 PM
Level 12 - Eleven Stroke Roll

AvengedDrummer is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to AvengedDrummer
I've never had a lesson either... Theres so many resources on the internet you almost dont need a teacher anymore.

Old 06-13-2009, 05:03 AM
Level 2 - Single Stroke Four

tenrap76 is on a distinguished road

Re: Anyone else self-taught?

as a drummer, i am 5 years old and a self taught too. to be an effective in self-teaching, you need to learn drum notation, which is preety easy. after that, there are lots of resources out there-books, videos, websites etc. so far i have learned from 5 books and currently i am refering 3 books during my practice session. learning independently is better once you hone your basic skills because there is flexibily of time and space.

Old 06-20-2006, 03:53 PM
Premium Member

gyutae is on a distinguished road
I started off with some lessons but then after a year or so realized that I could teach myself through books, videos, and the internet. So I went independent for a bit. The only problem with that is that if you don't have a gig or a band it's really hard to stay motivated and try to get better.