Premium Membership
Get in Touch
Advertise
Link to us
Contact us
Sponsors
Find Drums

Links

Go Back   Drum Forum at Drum Set Connect > Drummer Introductions and Promotions > Drummer Introductions

Old 07-09-2010, 04:45 AM
Level 0 - Pick up the sticks!

broski is on a distinguished road

hello drumsetconnect!

Hey everybody. I am from Evansville IN, I'm 21, blah blah blah... now onto the important information!

I listen to virtually all styles of music, but the genres that will likely influence my playing style the most include metal (Bring Me The Horizon & Miss May I), hardcore (Architects & Your Demise) dubstep (Bassnectar & Datsik), and Hip-Hop. I have also been listening to Enter Shikari A LOT as of late, but I'm not quite sure what genre they fall under. I look up to sooo many drummers. The masters obviously, no need to make a huge list of them! Matt Greiner and Travis Orbin are a couple of drummers that I really look up to specific to my main genre.

I am just getting started, but I have been intrigued by the drums for as long as I can remember. I have begged for a drumset since I was around 3-4, and my parents never gave in.. so now that I have my own income and I can finally get my set! For the sake of getting some practice in I've been using an extremely abused 5 piece Pearl Export w/ included cymbals and hardware that a friend gave me. Needless to say I am desperately wanting to upgrade to a nicer kit that is more for suited to my style. I would absolutely love any advice you can give on how to choose the right drums and cymbals, etc.

I would like to be in a metal band someday in the future, but right now I really just want to practice practice practice. I want to practice as many styles, genres, and techniques as possible to make myself a more disciplined and well rounded drummer. Again, I would love any advice, lessons, links, or any other information you could possibly give me. Thank you all I hope to hear back from you soon

Old Sponsors