Premium Membership
Get in Touch
Advertise
Link to us
Contact us
Sponsors
Find Drums

Links

Go Back   Drum Forum at Drum Set Connect > Drummer Introductions and Promotions > Drummer Introductions

Old 08-15-2006, 04:56 PM
Level 7 - Five Stroke Roll

malletjazz is on a distinguished road

Belated introductions

I just realized that even tho I've been here a while, I haven't actually introduced myself.

The "Readers Digest" version - my name is James Walker, and I've been playing drums and percussion for almost 30 years now. I grew up (and currently reside) in Connecticut, altho I did leave the state for a while to go to college (undergrad at Ithaca College in upstate New York, and grad' school at Northern Illinois University outside of Chicago).

Most of my gigging is on steel drums or mallet percussion (electric and acoustic), altho over the past year or so I've been getting more and more opportunities to play percussion with some local orchestrasm and an increasing number of drum set gigs (altho still not quite as many as I'd like). I also teach private lessons, mostly drum set but with a little bit of percussion and steel drums mixed in. As some of you may have noticed from my pictures in the "drumset gallery," I've got a bit of a "thing" for snare drums, having caught the "DIY bug" a few years ago.

Old Sponsors
Sponsored Links
Old 08-15-2006, 05:56 PM
Level 10 - Nine Stroke Roll

DrummerMom is on a distinguished road
Malletjazz,

you are one totally cool drummer!

Old 08-15-2006, 07:56 PM
Level 12 - Eleven Stroke Roll

AvengedDrummer is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to AvengedDrummer
A belated welcome to you! Im assuming you like jazz? Who are some of your favorites? Lately I've been listening to alot of Joshua Redman.

Old 08-15-2006, 08:16 PM

Thanks, everyone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by AvengedDrummer
A belated welcome to you! Im assuming you like jazz? Who are some of your favorites?