Premium Membership
Get in Touch
Advertise
Link to us
Contact us
Sponsors
Find Drums

Links

Go Back   Drum Forum at Drum Set Connect > Drum Forums - All About Drums > Play the Drums - Drum Talk

Old 01-06-2007, 07:26 PM
Level 0 - Pick up the sticks!

-T$- is on a distinguished road

Custom drum manufacturers

Hi, I am a new guy here. I have been reading a lot of posts and now I am ready to ask a question.

First, a little bit about me. I have been playing for about 22 years. I have been in bands for 21. I have had neumerous kits over the years from junk to grand. I am currently playing a 1985 Tama Imperial Star that I bought in 1993 and I love it, but that 80s experimental stuff with the Mohogany shells is getting tired. I play a 16X24, 14X15, 16X18 configuration all flat and really low. I also use a Premeir Heavy Rock 9 snare.

I need the new drums to do triple (at least) duty. I play in three (for now) all original bands; a Surf-Punk band, Pop (Very Foo-Fighters) band, and an Alt-Country (Very Sun-Volt, Uncle Tuepelo, Wilco) band.

I have been doing a lot of research lately into buying a new kit. I would love a set of DWs in an exotic wrap with a high gloss laquer. However, price is preventing this. 3K for 3 shells is a little steep for my budget.

So, I have been looking at some smaller custom manufacturers using Keller shells and 2.3 mm hoops (just like DW) and I was looking for a little help if anyone has any experience with any good brands.

So far I have been looking at, Medicine man (a little pricey), Jeff Kirsch (I reaaly like these), C&C, Jackson, SJC, Phattie, FVF (U.K.), RJS, and the one I am leaning towards Tech Time (Canadian). I have also been looking at some stave drums (Lignum, Joshua Tree, Artisan) but that is another ballpark ($$$$$$).

I am trying to stay around $1,500 US for the 3 shells with RIMS-type mounts.