Premium Membership
Get in Touch
Advertise
Link to us
Contact us
Sponsors
Find Drums

Links

Go Back   Drum Forum at Drum Set Connect > Drummer Introductions and Promotions > Drummer Introductions

Old 02-26-2007, 02:28 PM
Level 11 - Ten Stroke Roll

UPSTROKE is on a distinguished road

Upstroke

I'm new to this site. It looks very interesting. So, heres a little about me--I've been playing a l-o-o-o-ong time. Started playing at 6. Originally self taught. At 9 I went through every drum book ever written at that time. (they were still carved in stone) first paying gig at 12. By 23 I had opened for every country star that came thru Seattle & had played a year in Mississippi with Lawrence Welks keyboard player. Jazz, (no Bubble machine), also several months in New Orleans playing for strippers. At 24 an old guy (45 yrs old), heard me play & quit a job he had played for 14 years so they would give me his job. (all kinds of shows). People like Dizzy Gillespie, Ray brown, Oscar Peterson, & many many more came to sit in with us almost every night. He also got me the 4 best percussion teachers in Seattle (ALL FREE) He got me everything and wanted NOTHING in return. I was very lucky. At 28 I moved to Portland and did the Susan Raye show from 9 to 1:45 AM for about a year & worked an after hours gig 2 AM to 6AM. I went on the road for ten years and played dozens of different shows through out the West and Nevada. I eventually got a little fed up with some of the super egos & put my own show together. We had a great time for several years. I finally quit the road, got a real day gig in wholesale building materials & played part time. Retired 5 years ago & now I just play music in Idaho. I play whatever comes along & still love it. That's the short version of me.

Old Sponsors
Sponsored Links
Old 02-28-2007, 11:02 AM
Level 8 - Six Stroke Roll

givemethebeat is on a distinguished road
So you must be better than me right???.....