Premium Membership
Get in Touch
Advertise
Link to us
Contact us
Sponsors
Find Drums

Links

Go Back   Drum Forum at Drum Set Connect > Drum Forums - All About Drums > Drums and Drum Sets

Old 08-04-2009, 05:32 PM
Level 1 - Single Stroke Roll

Rock is on a distinguished road

Cheap sets for beginnners?

I have no experience and may not get any good, but I'd like to give a try. I've seen 5 pc sets for ~$300 US. Worth it all for a beginner?

Old Sponsors
Sponsored Links
Old 08-05-2009, 01:48 AM
Level 10 - Nine Stroke Roll

Luke is on a distinguished road

Re: Cheap sets for beginnners?

If your going to get a beginner set I would recommend a pdp set. Also you have to factor in hardware, cymbals, and new heads if you want to make that investment.

For beginner hardware: Both pdp and sp have good beginner hardware packs for cheap prices.

For beginner cymbals: Sabian B8's are a good bet I actually own them and like them very much. Also Zildjian ZBT and ZXT are ok from what I've heard.

Choosing to upgrade heads: Heads make all the difference in sound. usually stock bass drum heads that come with the set aren't too bad, but toms and snare are almost a must to replace. I recommend getting Evans G1's for new tom resonate heads and G2's or EC2's for batter (top) heads if you want a deeper sound out of your toms. Also the Evans Snare Tune Up Pack will dramatically increase the sound quality from your snare. Also Aquarian Focus-x snare heads are pretty good.

Hope that helped! If you have any more questions please ask the forum buying a new set is an investment and it's best to gather as much knowledge as you can before you buy a new set. Also going to Guitar Center and trying out sets there can help you decide also!

Old 08-05-2009, 09:39 AM

Der Trommler is on a distinguished road

Great advice Luke!

You may also want to consider looking on craigs list and checking out the local classifieds. Right now you can find nice intermediate sets for that kind of money also.